Shield of God.

Using the pearls of His wisdom and the light of His truth to protect us in this world. Glory to the Father, to the Son and to the Holy Spirit. Amen.

Is Deception Calling? A review of Jesus Calling by Sarah Young

Steak and a Bible

Just the other day I posted that Christians should be wary of God “experiences.” Although there are many prominent promoters of practices that claim to be ways to hear directly from God (other than by reading the Bible), it is my fear that these are really paths toward self-deception or worse.

As a follow up I’d like to share my thoughts about a book whose author purports to have received messages from God (which she turned into a bestselling book).

A couple months ago I was given a devotional book called Jesus Calling, and although I never read devotionals I began to examine the book. What I found shocked me. The author, Sarah Young, claims to have received revelations from Jesus through dialogue journaling (something she learned from two “listeners” who wrote another book called God Calling. I’ll get to that in a minute). Her book is even…

View original post 2,508 more words

Single Post Navigation

2 thoughts on “Is Deception Calling? A review of Jesus Calling by Sarah Young

  1. Bob Scott on said:

    Sounds like you are too afraid to hear God’s voice for yourself,,,they had the same problem when God issued the 10 commandments,,,HE sais , I did not require burnt offerings and sacrifices,,,I said HEAR MY VOICE AND OBEY and I will be Your God and You will be MY people.

    • Hi Bob, Thanks for commenting….actually I didn’t write the book or the review, it is a reblog (source is mentioned on the top of the post). So this issue isn’t if I am afraid to hear God’s voice ! And I reblogged it because I agree with the reviewer, and I feel that it is important to note that discernment is crucial. In this case, she is reviewing a book where the author’s communications with God verged on automatic writing. This can be very tricky. All I am trying to say is that we may all hear a voice, but is it His? God will speak to us, the Holy Spirit will guide us, and yes, I agree with you that burnt offerings and sacrifices are not being called for. However, Satan also uses channeled messages and voices to mimic and thwart the work of the Divine, to create chaos among the people – to confuse them. New Age movements are based on these twisted messages that falsely appear to be from God. The book reviewer feels that word from God should come from Scripture. Personally, I agree with the reviewer on that, but I also feel that God does speak directly to us at times. However, when we do hear Him speak to us, we know it is the Lord. And it is easy to test this because His word flows in harmony with the Scripture, and it speaks with authority and what He says is revealed to us to create a stepping stone closer to His truth. Therefore, I can’t agree with you when you stated in your comment that I am afraid to hear the voice of God! I live my life according to the voice of God. The views expressed in the book review do not reflect my personal relationship with God – this is one person’s review of another person’s book.
      However, in this review is a statement which, to me, made it worth reblogging. The reviewer wrote this about the author of the book :” …Young claims in her book that her one-way journaling became “dialogue” (two-way conversation) with Jesus. Yet, she admits that her journaling was “not inspired as Scripture is,” but still she writes each daily devotional as if Jesus was speaking those words Young heard. This is completely illogical. If Jesus was in fact speaking to Young, then his words would have to be authoritative because Jesus is God. There is no way for him not to be authoritative.”
      Do you see the danger here? One can not believe to hear voices, and then to record the message AS IF it were coming from Jesus. This is very dangerous, misleading and delusional. And if one doesn’t have the Holy Spirit residing in them,this type of thing can sweep them into believing this as well – letting them think that they too can sit at their kitchen table, notebook open – and begin to receive messages – hoping and pretending that they come from Jesus.
      Jesus, God the Father and the Holy Spirit speak to whomever They choose. They have also taught us to test and discern. ” Dear friends, do not believe every spirit, but test the spirits to see whether they are from God, because many false prophets have gone out into the world.” (John 4 :1 NIV) False prophets are not only certain TV evangelists – they are also voices declaring things, from an useen source. Satan is the Prince of the Air. We are dealing with his principality here. So techinically any person lacking the protection of the Holy Spirit can be prey to intercepting false voices and visions.
      And this was taught to us because Satan uses the ploy of appearing as Divine. ” And no wonder, for Satan himself masquerades as an angel of light.” (2 Corinthians 11 :14) NIV

      Peace of the Lord be with you.

Leave a Reply

